Dressing the Windows

Our new house has great windows.  As in original to the house rope and pulley windows with big ol’ trim.  My husband asked if I wanted to replace them in the future (for energy efficiency reasons), and I reminded him that I’m a form over function girl, and he wasn’t going anywhere near my windows!

Covering these windows is not something I’m crazy about doing, but I realized two nights ago why I really have no choice, at least for the bedrooms.  The house next door has been under renovation for some time now, but apparently it’s finished and the neighbors moved in while I was gone.  As I was helping kids get ready for bed, I realized I could see our neighbors walking around, which meant they could see us!  Not what I want for bedroom windows!

The view from the boys’ room isn’t much better, as far as visibility and privacy are concerned.

What a dreary day with all of the not-snow we were getting.  But I digress.

I called Lowe’s yesterday to order Levolor faux wood blinds for all of the bedroom and bathroom windows, had them cut to fit, and arrived to find them all waiting in a cart with my name on it.  I love Lowe’s!  I moved the boxes upstairs so we could get an early start this morning.

We started in what will be the guest room since we wouldn’t have to move furniture.  Path of least resistance and whatnot.  We never use the screws that come with anything, because they almost never work as well as our own screws, so I can’t comment on the screws in the kit.  With the exception of the thank-goodness-these-windows-aren’t-even-a-tiny-bit-narrower tight fit, the blinds went in smoothly.  We did have to bend the clip on one bracket out to get the top bar in place, but it’s in!

the future guest room windows

We worked out a good system of me being two steps ahead of him at the start of each set of blinds so I could go back behind him and add the decorative trim to the top and pop in the little plastic pieces on the bottom bar without slowing him down on the next set.  We worked on the guest/boys’ bathroom next.

Who wants to use the bathroom knowing you’re that exposed!

My son was upset that we were hanging blinds on the window closest to his bed, because he likes looking out the window in the morning.  Once I showed him he could open the blinds while still in bed, he was fine.  Boys.  The blinds in the boys’ room and the girls’ room that faces the neighbor’s house were all tight fits like the guest room, so we had to convince the blinds they wanted to go up.  Gave my husband an excuse to use his hammer, at least.

It feels much better knowing my girls have privacy in their bedroom now!

Lowe’s was short two blinds, so I wasn’t able to put blinds up in the second girls’ room, but all of the windows that face other houses or the street are done.

After finishing the girls’ bathroom, I had my husband drill holes in the plaster to hang a few pictures.  May as well get as much as possible accomplished while everything was out!  Now, I’m heading to an antique store to pick up two twin beds to replace the full bed in one of the girls’ rooms.  My 11 and 4 year old girls have been sharing a bed, and my 4 year old is training to be a boxer in her sleep.  Time to end the suffering!  The full bed is moving into the guest room, so it will no longer be (almost) empty!

Things have been busy here since coming home, just the way I like it!

Leave a Reply

