The First Purchase

I mentioned in my first post that I’m a bit… frugal.  That couldn’t be more true than when it comes to lighting.  I love lighting.  It’s an easy update with a big WOW factor!  And my husband knows I can’t resist the lighting aisles at Lowe’s.  He tolerates this, and is now a pro at changing out light fixtures in our homes.

Our new house doesn’t have a refrigerator, so I went to Lowe’s to look at our options and see what sales they’re running.  And of course, I took a detour to the lighting section.

And I made the first purchase for our new home.

I can’t think of any better dining fixture for a home built in 1941 than a chandelier with fluted glass shades, a nod to the art deco period. The very last one in the store, hanging as a display.

The original price tag read $179, and was marked down to $35.80.  That’s my kind of price!

In other news, we still do not have a refrigerator for the house.  But we will.  Before we move in.

5 thoughts on “The First Purchase

    • Jo, you’re absolutely right! We save the most money by figuring out how to do things ourselves! I stopped by your blog and immediately saw the green rise and fall pendant light. Now I’m longing for one for my house!

      Like

Leave a comment